Submission

When I was a teenager, I had a dream of being one of the top horse trainers in the world. Most of my weekends and summer hours were spent outside working with my horses for countless hours. My Paint mare in particular was always interesting to watch as I worked with her. The method I would use was a replication of how horses would act within the herd. If the head honcho wanted another horse to move, they would put their ears back and bite (if need be). Now I wouldn’t bite my mare, but I would use various points on her body and would apply pressure to those points to make her move or do whatever I wanted. It wasn’t painful, but it was uncomfortable to her. There were times I knew she didn’t want to do what I said. She would wiggle her upper lip and fight the pressure, wanting to stay where she was at. However, I wouldn’t stop. The pressure remained constant to the point that she would finally submit and move away from the pressure.

As I think about those days of training my horse, I think that  way with God and my relationship with him. God may want me to get out of a phase or do something that is totally out of my comfort zone. My first reaction is like my mare (minus wiggling my upper lip) where I don’t want to do it. However, God is constant and the Holy Spirit keeps speaking to my heart to the point where I finally give in. In the times that I have submitted to God, I find myself growing more in faith and my attitude has changed in a lot of areas.

Proverbs 3:6 states, “in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.”

When you submit you burdens, worries, illnesses, etc. to the Lord, you are saying that you trust him. You are opening yourself to grow more in faith when you let him take the reigns in your life. It may be uncomfortable at first, or he might lead you to a place where it is outside of your normal routine of life, but it is in those times when we grow and change as a person.

Is there an area in your life that you need to hand it over to God? Is there something he’s been speaking to you to do, but your uncomfortable to accomplish it? My challenge to you this week is to find an area that you need to submit to God. It just takes one to start because God is patient and will lead you in other areas as your walk continues. Take that one area and say to God that you want to submit this to him. Let him know that you trust him and let him know your concerns. He wants us to be honest with him. There may be an instant change, or it might take some time. Just stay in faith and rejoice that he has it in his hands. Our prayers to him do not return empty my friends.

Leave a Reply

