Seasons

IMG_1503

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven: a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot, a time to kill and a time to heal, a time to tear down and a time to build, a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and time to dance, a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them, a time to embrace and a time to refrain, a time to search and a time to give up, a time to keep and a time to throw away, a time to tear and a time to mend, a time to be silent and a time to speak, a time to love and a time to hate, a time for war and a time for peace.” Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

Within the tattered pages of Grandma’s favorite teal colored Bible was this verse underlined and a wish for it to be mentioned at her funeral, along with other verses. This verse never ceases to captivate me, especially in particular moments of my life.

Summer is coming to a close in Wyoming. Farmers are quickly harvesting barley, beans, and beets before the first frost. Soon enough, Wyoming will have her one day of fall where we see the bright colored leaves. The next day, those leaves will be covered with snow.

Children have dragged themselves back to school, anticipating the day that they will be grown up. Meanwhile on the college campus, parents fight back tears as they release their young graduates onto the next phase of their life.

This is my husbands last year here at the community college. In the spring, he will obtain his Associates Degree in Civil Engineering. As I sent him off to his first day of the fall semester, I couldn’t help but notice the change of the season.

Just five years ago, at the age of eighteen, I was a brand new Christian and attending college. Never in my life would I think that this physical therapy major would follow God’s urges through her instructors to switch majors and graduate with honors as an English major. Never in my life would I think I would find love so fast and be happily married. Never in my life did I think my relationship would deepen with Christ that would lead me to being filled with the Holy Spirit and craving for more. Never in my life did I imagine that this aspiring author would follow God’s promptings and apply for a secretary job at a law office where I had no experience and get the job.

There is so much more that leaves me floored. But now as the seasons change, I look from the past to the future. In a year, my husband and I will leave the comforts of the small town of Powell and move on to Laramie where my hubby will keep on with his studies on Civil Engineering.

What will I do? What job will I get, if that is what God wants? What if he wants me to do missions down there with the college? What church will we attend? Will the church have Pentecostal beliefs?

The questions keep coming. At this time I don’t know, and that is okay. I trust in God and that he will answer those questions in his perfect timing. I trust him with the unknown, because I know that he has some good purpose for me down there.

In Isaiah 55: 8-13 it says, “”For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it. You will go out in joy and be led forth in peace; the mountains and hills will burst into song before you, and all the trees of the field will clap their hands. Instead of the thornbush will grow the pine tree, and instead of briers the myrtle will grow. This will be for the Lord’s renown, for an everlasting sign, which will not be destroyed.””

I cannot comprehend all that God has planned for me. I don’t know which roads he will have me trek. All I know is that I can lay my worries before him and have faith that wherever he puts me is for his greater good. The road may be rough, but I know that there is some kind of good in it. Plus, I know that whenever I pray and lay it before him, my words have reached him as stated in Isaiah.

Maybe you’re in a situation today that seems bleak. Maybe you are wondering where your purpose is in your situation. Maybe you are wondering where your future is. Just trust in the Lord and he will show you the way. He will take care of it. Just let him take the drivers seat and enjoy the ride, even if it’s bumpy. One thing I know for sure is that the final destination is worth it.

Leave a Reply

