Overcome

It had been a hard week as I knelt onto the floor with my open Bible. The sun covered me like a blanket as I closed my eyes to pray, even though I didn’t want to. Earlier that week, I had been shocked to find out that things in my church weren’t going very well and we were about to lose our pastor and his wife who had become like another mother and father to me. I’ll save the details, but that whole week involved a lot of tears, fear, hurt, and praying. Many were working to find a way to keep the pastor in this crisis. At the end of the week, I was weary and worried about how things would turn out.

I couldn’t even find the words to pray, even though I had enough to say during the week. I just didn’t know what to say, so I just sat there and stilled my mind.

In the quiet, the Holy Spirit revealed to me one word…overcome.

With that word followed a sense of peace and courage that I hadn’t felt all that week. I started praising God and declaring that our church would overcome this crisis and that we would grow. I declared that my pastor and his wife would overcome this situation and would continue to follow the Lord’s blessing. Over and over, I kept on declaring that I would overcome or that my husband would overcome things that were holding us back. It was just this constant thought that this time was a time to overcome.

Right before Jesus was arrested, he said to his disciples, “In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

Sadly we live in a broken world as the result of the fall of man. When Adam and Eve ate the forbidden fruit, they opened the world to sin and all the evil within. However, when Jesus came, he came so that we would have life. He was tempted, but he did not sin. He bore the abuse, the beatings, the cross, the shame, and death just for us so that we could have eternal life. He was raised from the grave, thus overcoming death. By his stripes we are healed. Our sins are gone and our sicknesses have been healed because of Jesus. Jesus overcame it all, and we can to through Him.

Maybe you are in a difficult time. You are sick, battling addiction, struggling financially, struggling with sin, or something else that I haven’t listed. Take heart because Jesus overcame on the cross for you. You don’t have to do this alone. He wants to be there and help you overcome this trial you are going through. He will neither leave you or forsake you. All you have to do is believe and stand in faith. Let Him do the works within you.

Skip ahead another week and as my husband and I attended church, things were much better. My pastor and his wife were allowed to stay and preach. We had lost a few members in the process, but the future became clearer as the pastor gave us a message of hope followed by worship and communion. As we sang “Happy Day” at the end, I looked all around and noticed that this church was overcoming the obstacle. It would take time, but we were unified as the body of Christ. We would overcome.

Leave a Reply

