Prayers Block

IMG_1501

Sorry that I haven’t posted anything for awhile. One Saturday as I sat down to write, I looked at a blank screen for awhile, trying to come up with something to write about. No matter what I did, nothing would come into my mind. In that time I realized that I was cursed with writers block…and it took me this long to figure out what God wanted me to write about.

Being cursed with writers block reminds me also when I have nothing to say in prayer. I just sit there with my eyes closed, but nothing is coming out. It’s as if I have nothing to say. They need to call it prayers block.

I had to think long and hard about it, but at that time, I was having a hard time praying. It felt like I was rehashing things with God and I didn’t want to sound like a CD that had played one to many times in my car. It was as if a wall had come up between me and God and I couldn’t break it down.

One afternoon, my pastor’s wife texted me saying she had been thinking about me and that the new Bible study would be on prayer. I instantly texted her back, saying that I was for sure coming, knowing that God was working to break that barrier between us.

I don’t regret one minute going to that first night of the study. It was nerve racking of course cause one of the things I had to do was go and pray for a half an hour in some part of the church. As I sat down with my Bible, it was as if the barrier was there. However, as I stared at one of the Psalms in the Bible, there was a spiritual groaning within me. There were no words, but I could sense that God could understand what was coming from my heart.

And I let my heart groan. The groans turned into words minutes later, which in turn went into tongues.

I never felt so much joy the next day.

You see, God is joy. He wants us to come into His presence because it is there that you find joy, freedom, inspiration, and much more. But I can understand that many feel like there is that barrier there.

God understands and he wants to remind you of something. In Psalm 139: 1-4 it says, “O Lord, you have searched me and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O Lord.

God knows your thoughts. He knows what’s on your heart. He knows of your burdens and your pain. Even if you can’t even say what is going on, he knows because the spirit withing you speaks to him with groans that we can’t understand (Romans 8:26-27).

Maybe today you are in need to speak to God but you don’t know what to say. Maybe you have that barrier that I wrote about today. My challenge to you is to sit still. You don’t have to say a word. Just meditate on God’s goodness and let the Spirit intercede for you. Have your Bible nearby and read a passage and mediate on it. Soon enough the words will come to your mouth. But don’t get discouraged in the process. Remind yourself that He is there and he knows every hurt and every need in your life.

God bless all of you and have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

