Gateway to Purpose

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Gateway to Heaven

There is a little space of heaven in the South Fork area in Wyoming that my husband once took me to. It’s one of the few places that tourists don’t ever venture to, so when wanting some inspiration for my art, we journeyed there one summer day with my husband all geared up for his photoshoot (he’s my model now since we’ve been married). Being raised in Wyoming, I had never heard of this place. To be truthful, I have never been through all of Yellowstone National Park either. Anyway, my husband had been raised in the South Fork area, so it made him really excited to take me to this one place.

This one place is part of one of the mountain ranges in the South Fork. On one of the mountain walls that you can literally climb up to, there is a hole in the wal. When you look through that hole, you get a view of the mountain ranges of Wyoming. Below the mountain ranges is a winding river that is surrounded by a forest of pine and green grass. This view is all framed by this hole in the mountain wall. One picture can’t grasp the full scenery versus being there is person peeking through this hole up close.

I’m not going to give you the real name of the place, but I call it the gateway to heaven.

To this day, my mind always goes back to that one spot, especially when I yearn to be outside. When I think of that place, I think of God and when he created the earth.

The story of creation is found in chapter one of Genesis. In six days, God created the universe, the earth and all of its inhabitants. It’s interesting how orderly he did it too. First he created light. Second, he creates the atmosphere and the skies. Then he creates the land and vegetation. Then he creates the sun, moon, and stars. Then he creates the fish and the birds. Finally, he creates animals and humans on the sixth day.

God was so orderly and specific when he went through this whole creation process. And as I continually think of the view on South Fork that day, I couldn’t help but think how everything was purposefully made. The mountain ranges, the trees, the river, the hole in that mountain wall…God made them on purpose. Even Heart Mountain, another mountain that is in the same county, with its backward geological features (just do a Google search of Heart Mountain and you’ll understand my point) was made on purpose.

You see, when I was in my old self that lived with hatred and insecurities, I thought I was the biggest mistake in the world. I had heard people saying that I was a joke to society when I was a teenager, and you know what, I believed them. There were days I wished I wasn’t born and I would seriously tell God that.

When I came to know Jesus, I was told that I was wrong. Jesus, through his sacrifice on the cross, told me that I wasn’t a mistake. If I was a mistake, Jesus would never have come on this world and died on the cross for me. He saw something in me that I couldn’t see. He saw a greater purpose within me. He saw me as God’s child too.

Jesus saw the same things in you too. It doesn’t matter what background you were raised in. It doesn’t matter what your parents, teachers, siblings, or anyone else said about you. It doesn’t matter what you think of yourself. It doesn’t matter what addiction you’ve fallen into. You are not a mistake. It says in Psalm 139: 14- “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful.”

We are fearfully and wonderfully made. And Jesus knew that too when he came here on this world. Yes, we live with sin in our blood, but God saw more beyond that. He loves you and me and everyone in this world because we are His. Nothing can ever change that.

Maybe you are living in a time where you wonder why you were ever born. Maybe some curses were spoken over you. I can’t list everything, but maybe you are under the bondage of Satan. Today is the day where you can be freed from those bondages. The key to that freedom is Jesus Christ. He came on this world out of the love of His Father in heaven, died on the cross, and was raised from the dead for you. Through His blood we are freed from all sin. He loves you and wants you to be free. All you have to do is confess your sins, confess that Jesus is Lord and Savior, believe, and you’ll be free. That’s it. No questions asked. You will be freed from Satan’s bondage immediately and filled with the love of Jesus.

This my brother and sister, is the gateway to purpose and love.

Leave a Reply

