Marriage: Becoming One Part One

It seems like that it was yesterday when I donned a white gown and was a princess for just one day. I remember gliding down the aisle of my home church with my dad by my side as the music from the Shire fluttered in the background. At the end of the aisle stood not only my maid of honors and groomsmen, but my prince clad in a creme colored suit with a purple vest. He was smiling and taking in the moment as much as I was.

It was the day my husband and I became one.

My husband had been searching for many years to find a woman that would become his companion. For too long, he had been alone, wondering if that would ever happen.

Then I came into his life and stole his heart.

In the Bible, Adam was another man who was alone without a companion. He was the first man created by God. Adam was not born from a woman, but was created from the dust on the ground, so there was no woman for him (at the time). God had created all sorts of creatures, allowing Adam to name them. But Adam found no companionship with any of them.

That didn’t stop God at all. He didn’t want Adam to be alone, so He put Adam in a deep sleep. Then he took one of Adam’s ribs and created a woman that was later called Eve.

And the two became one. Eve became Adam’s helper in all things.

When my husband and I got married, we became one. We correlate things together and its very rare that we do things on our own. We work together as a team. We do dishes together. We cook together. We go shopping together. We make decisions together. That’s the beauty of marriage.

Granted, I do have my alone time, but most of the time, my husband is not far away. Let me tell you, it isn’t long before I want to be with my husband again.

When God created marriage, he made it to be that the man and woman would be one. Too many times I have seen many couples struggle because of the mentality that they are married, but they can do things on their own. They make big decisions without consulting the other spouse which ends up in big fights. That is very unhealthy in the long run.

I do want to be honest, it was a little hard for me and my husband to correlate together when we first got married. Both of us were set in our ways on certain things. It was like we were two different radio announcers from two different radio channels that spoke different languages. We had to overcome those barriers in order to communicate to each other. Now, it’s like we both are Jedi’s and can read each other’s minds. That’s the whole part of becoming one in marriage.

I want to challenge you today to think about your relationship with your significant other. If you are single, you can most certainly take this advice and apply it for later. It will help you in the long run. But my challenge to you is to think about your relationship. Are you living with a different agenda from your significant other? Are you living with the “it’s about me” mentality? I challenge you to sit down with your significant other and discuss area’s that need to be adjusted. Challenge yourselves to work more at being one in marriage in regards to the mind. Being one in mind is more important than being two minds and alone.

3 thoughts on “Marriage: Becoming One Part One

  1. I know I struggle daily with my relationship with my Fiance, so often I am focused on myself, and I forget that we are a team. Thanks for the reminder on what our relationship is based off of and what it is supposed to be.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Marriage: Becoming One Part One | PARADISE OF TRUTH AND LIBERITY

Leave a Reply

