Becoming One in Marriage Part Three

 

Out of all the animated films, I enjoyed watching “How To Train Your Dragon”. It was a fantastic story line. I enjoyed seeing how the main character developed a bond with Toothless. They started out as complete strangers with two different minds, but in the end, they became one.

In the last two posts, I’ve written about becoming one in marriage through the mind and physically. There’s just one more piece that I need to discuss with you about.

There are three parts to us human beings. We have a mind, body, and spirit. Being in a committed relationship has those same three components when you and your lover become one.

I’ve talked about the mind and the body, but the last part I’m going to talk about is being one in marriage spiritually.

Adam and Eve were one spiritually. They got to physically see and walk with God while they were in the garden. They got to hear his voice and speak with God everyday. This couple was the closest to God.

As a couple, it helps when you are one spiritually. My husband and I struggled to see eye to eye when we first got married. I was a full fledged Christian chasing after God’s heart. My husband was on the opposite end. He believed in God, but he didn’t want to follow God. My husband had been burnt by a religious spirit and hypocrisy in his church that he grew up in. While I saw being a Christian as fun, he saw being a Christian as dull and he thought he was going to miss out on things if he followed God.

I loved my husband for many reasons and I married him because God revealed to me that he was the one. But it was a struggle because our views were opposite. He wanted to go on paths that I knew God wouldn’t approve of. We had many fights because we were not one spiritually.

For awhile in our marriage, I felt alone spiritually. Sadly, there were instances I wanted to run, but God stopped me each time. He said for me to stay and remain in faith in front of my husband.

You know what, God came through. My husband recommitted his life to Jesus one evening. He still had a journey, but with each day, God took over his heart. Today, we are one spiritually.

When you and your spouse aren’t one spiritually, your views will conflict with each other. What one spouse thinks is correct may not be correct to the other. I mean, you will have your disagreements even if you are one spiritually. The main disagreements will come on things that regard morality and faith. Before my husband recommitted his life to Jesus, I could tell he didn’t have have faith. I on the other hand had this faith that God could do anything. My husband’s lack of faith actually hurt me within my soul.

What I’m saying is this, when you aren’t one spiritually with your spouse, it creates conflict. And what happens in the spiritual realm will affect the physical and the mental realm. When you are one spiritually with your spouse, you will see eye to eye. Plus, the two of you will be able to have a strong faith that will move mountains. Today, my husband and I come to agreement when things come up, which brings a whole new level of peace.

For those of you who have a spouse that doesn’t believe in God, don’t give up. Paul states in 1 Corinthians chapter 7 that if they (the unbeliever) is willing to stay (in the relationship), then the believing spouse should stay. He writes in verse 16 of that same chapter, “How do you know, wife, whether you will save your husband? Or, how do you know, husband, whether you will save your wife?”

Don’t give up on hope. Surrender your spouse over to God and pray for them everyday that they would come to know Jesus. Keep praying in faith. It may seem lonely at times, but God will be right there to help you through it all.

 

Leave a Reply

