Kindle the Fire

The page of 2015 is at the brink of being turned and a new chapter is about to begin with 2016. This has been a year where a new enemy decided to show its face with the intent of spreading fear and violence on the hearts of the world. Indeed, it did bring fear to my heart as they began to appear.

Yesterday, as I was studying the Word and worshiping the Lord, God placed a new song in my heart. The fear that the enemy was trying to put in my heart dissipated and joy and hope overwhelmed me as I continued to praise the name of the Lord.

At the time, I was listening to a well known preacher speak on the three gifts of the Magi in the Christmas story. As you know, the Magi brought Jesus the gift of gold, myrrh, and frankincense. The preacher stated that frankincense and myrrh is really nice to smell, but it’s not useful unless you light it with fire.

As I pondered on what the preacher said, I realized that in some way, I had let the fire within me die. The worries of this life and what was going on in the world stopped me from kindling God’s fire.

Yesterday, I worshiped and prayed to God for the fire to be rekindled again and to let it burn like a wildfire for 2016. You see, when you read the end of the Bible, God wins. We win. ISIS is not going to win. No other terrorist organization is going to win. Sin is not going to win. God wins. The day that Christ was born was a victory because He came to die so we would not have death, but have eternal life. That right there is a victory and not even ISIS can take it away. But we can’t live in fear because that’s what Satan wants. He wants us to live in fear. He wants us to live in silence as he spreads more sin and destruction in the world. He wants us to forget about Christs victory on the cross.

My prayer for you this coming year is to rekindle the flame of God within you and run with it. Rekindle the love and joy that came to you when Christ came to your heart. Don’t live in silence, but speak of His love and victory on the cross. Live in the mindset of victory and cast the fear out of your lives.

Have a happy new year everyone and thanks to all of you who have read and liked my work. God bless you all!

Leave a Reply

