Transformed

I finally saw Star Wars The Force Awakens this weekend. I’m not usually fond of JJ Abrams, but I have to admit, he did a good job with continuing this long trilogy. Today, as I pondered in bed, I realized that years ago, I used to not be very picky with what I watched. In this day and time, I’m very picky about which movies I watch. It’s not just because I’m a Christian now versus years ago, but it’s because I was into acting and screen writing back in college, which transformed my thinking on what a good movie was. Today, I will go to the movie theater once a year. It’s pure luck if I go twice. Yes, I look at a lot of movies that come to my area and I usually say no because of this transformation within me to be passionate about a good story line. 

As a wife I was transformed. I was transformed before I walked the aisle. I ruined my own bridal shower because I refused to get drunk. I didn’t see the point of getting drunk before getting married. After marriage, I was transformed in many ways. It wasn’t about me anymore. It was about us.

In the same way, God has transformed me. I used to be lost, selfish, alone, and afraid. When I came to know Christ, I transformed into being saved, loved, humble, and strong.

God can transform you too. It says in Romans 12:1-2, “Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God- this is your act of worship. Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is- his good, pleasing and perfect will.”

I see several keys to transformation here.

  1. God’s mercy
  2. Sacrifice/surrender
  3. Renewing your mind

First off, God is merciful. It doesn’t matter what you have done or what is happening right now. He sent Christ as a sacrifice because He is merciful. Our sins, weaknesses, addictions, infirmities…they have been paid for on the cross. Because of His mercy and sacrifice, we can be transformed.

Secondly, we must surrender ourselves daily to God. As it says in Romans, it’s a form of worship. When we surrender, we are opening ourselves to God to transform us for His greater good. He will not work on someone who doesn’t surrender to Him.

Finally, we see that we cannot conform to the world. How we do that is by renewing our mind daily. We renew our minds when we read His word, when we are praying, and when we gather around other Christians. We won’t know what’s His will if we don’t do those things. It would be like a student who doesn’t show up to class or read the material provided. When the test comes, they won’t know the answers and fail. When we get in accordance with God, we learn His will and will be transformed to shun the worldly ideals.

I challenge you to look at where your heart is with God. It doesn’t matter if you are new or old, just honestly look at where you are at. Do you need to be transformed? If you do, look at the steps I listed above. Renew your heart to Jesus. Surrender yourself to God. Then continue walking with God through His word, prayer, and fellowship. You’ll see a transformation that will follow for years to come.

Happy New Years everyone!

One thought on “Transformed

Leave a Reply

